Agape HOPE & JOY
/ About / Ministries / Agape HOPE & JOY
Agape, H.O.P.E. & J.O.Y.

Agape - for Kindergarten and under

HOPE (Hellenic Orthodox Primary Education) & JOY (Junior Orthodox Youth) - for 1st through 5th graders

We hope you'll get involved with our ministry here at St. Nicholas this year and feel free to invite your friends too!

For more information, please contact our Pastoral Assistant, Sam Williams at sam@stnicksgoc.org.

image
  • Mon
    26Sep

    Myrrh-Bearers
    6 p.m.
  • Tue
    27Sep

    Men's Group
    6 p.m.
  • Wed
    28Sep

    Community Night
    5:30 p.m.
  • Thu
    29Sep

    St. Photini Women's Study
    10:30 a.m.
    Teleconference
  • Sat
    1Oct

    Fr. Sav Mission Walk

HOLY WEEK - 04/27/19

(67 images)


Online donations coming soon!

image

Saint Nicholas Greek Orthodox Church
Virginia Beach, Virginia

Good afternoon St. Nicholas family!

 

We are blessed today with many online resources for our Orthodox Christian faith available in the English language. Please use these links below as opportunities to learn, to connect to liturgical services around the world, and to listen to Orthodox music. Included are also links to podcasts, prayers, and services that you can pray at home.

 

These are great resources to help you cultivate your "little church" at home! If you have any questions about these links or how to engage with your faith at home, please don't hesitate to contact me at w.sam.williams@gmail.com.

 

Resource list:

 

1. Regularly updated list of resources including ways to stream online services, resources for children, and reflections on managing stress and anxiety.

http://myocn.net/5-ways-to-unite-with-faith-over-fear/

 

2. Daily Orthodox scripture & saint readings

https://www.goarch.org/chapel

 

3. Orthodox prayers

https://www.goarch.org/chapel/prayers

 

4. Orthodox services - if you'd like to pray the Akathist or Paraklesis, for example

https://www.goarch.org/chapel/texts

 

5. Excellent resource of Orthodox articles, writings of the saints, and lives of saints. Includes articles organized by topic.

https://www.johnsanidopoulos.com/

 

6. Orthodox podcasts and blogs

https://www.ancientfaith.com/

 

7.  Streaming Orthodox music and Orthodox radio

https://www.ancientfaith.com/radio

 

8. Video resources on Orthodoxy

https://www.youtube.com/user/y2am/

 

9. Streaming services from Orthodox monasteries (services in English)

https://www.youtube.com/user/EllwoodCityChapel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQ-sqeQbmgzrL0t8uFJm4Ew

 

In Christ,

Sam Williams

 

--

Pastoral Assistant

St. Nicholas Greek Orthodox Church

621 First Colonial Road, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23451

757-422-5600

www.stnicksgoc.org

HOLY WEEK

Saturday, April 20    

Lazarus Saturday/Divine Liturgy 10 a.m.

 

Sunday, April 21                                 

Palm Sunday                             

Orthros 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy 10 a.m.

Bridegroom 6 p.m.

 

Monday, April 22                                             

Bridegroom - 6 p.m.

 

Tuesday, April 23

Bridegroom - 6 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 24

Presanctified Liturgy

Divine Liturgy 10 a.m.

Holy Unction - 6 p.m.

 

Thursday, April 25

Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

12 Gospel Service - 6 p.m.

 

Friday, April 26

Great Hours - 10 a.m.

Decent from The Cross - 3 p.m.

Lamentations - 6 p.m.

 

Saturday, April 27

Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

Orthros & Divine Liturgy of the Resurrection - 11:15 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 28

GREAT AND HOLY PASCHA

Agape Service - 11a.m.

 

 

 

 

Wednesday, March 27

Presanctified Liturgy -   6 p. m. – 7 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Offering Ourselves to God – 7:30 p.m. – 8:15 p.m.

 

Friday, March 29

3rd Salutations to the Theotokos - 6 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 31

Sunday of the Holy Cross                                      

Orthros - 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

 

Monday, April 1

Compline -   6 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 3

Presanctified Liturgy - 6 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Remembrance: Experiencing the Past Now

7:30 p.m.– 8:15 p.m.

 

Friday, April 5

Vespers/4thSalutations to the Theotokos – 6:00 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 7

Sunday of St. John Climacus

Orthros - 8:45 a.m.

Divine Liturgy - 10:00 a.m.

 

Monday, April 8

Compline -   6:00 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 10

Presanctified Liturgy -   6 p. m. – 7 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Receiving: How to Be in Communion –

7:30 p.m.– 8:15 p.m.

 

Friday, April 12

Akathist Hymn - 6 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 14

Saint Mary of Egypt

Orthros - 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

 

 

 

 

LENT BEGINS

Monday, March 11

Great Canon I - 6 p.m.

 

Wednesday, March 13

Presanctified Liturgy -   6 p.m. – 7 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

“Fasting & Feasting: The Cycle of the Church – 7:30 p.m.– 8:15 p.m.

 

*Friday, March 15 – Annunciation (Norfolk)

1st Salutations to the Theotokos - 6:30 p.m.

 

*Saturday, March 16 – Annunciation (Norfolk)

Saturday of Souls - 9:30 a.m.

 

Sunday, March 17

Sunday of Orthodoxy

Orthros - 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy - 10 a .m.

Vespers – Pan-Orthodox 6 p.m. (St. Basil)

 

Monday, March 18

Compline - 6 p.m.

 

Wednesday, March 20

Presanctified Liturgy -   6 p. m. – 7 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Prayer & Worship – 7:30 p.m. – 8:15 p.m.

 

Friday, March 22

2nd Salutations To The Theotokos -   6 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 24

Sunday of St. Gregory Palamas

Orthros - 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

Vespers – Eve of the Feast –

Annunciation (Norfolk) 6 p.m.

 

Monday, March 25

Feast of Annunciation – Annunciation (Norfolk) 8:30 a.m.

 

Ministries
Education
Events