Lent & Holy Week - 2019
Home / Service Schedule / Lent & Holy Week - 2019
JOURNEY THROUGH GREAT LENT/HOLY WEEK

 

PLEASE TAKE TIME TO REFLECT ON SCRIPTURE AND ATTEND SERVICES DURING LENT AND HOLY WEEK. GREAT LENT IS THE FORTY-DAY PERIOD THAT PREPARES US TO CELEBRATE THE RESURRECTION OF CHRIST. DURING THESE FORTY DAYS, SAINT NICHOLAS WILL CARRY EACH OF YOU THROUGH PRAYER, FASTING, AND WORSHIP SO WE CAN CELEBRATE THE GREATEST FEAST AND GIFT THAT GOD HAS EVER GIVEN:

THE PROMISE OF ETERNAL LIFE THROUGH CHRIST’S RESURRECTION.

 

 

 

LENT BEGINS

Monday, March 11

Great Canon I - 6 p.m.

 

Wednesday, March 13

Presanctified Liturgy -   6 p.m. – 7 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

“Fasting & Feasting: The Cycle of the Church – 7:30 p.m.– 8:15 p.m.

 

*Friday, March 15 – Annunciation (Norfolk)

1st Salutations to the Theotokos - 6:30 p.m.

 

*Saturday, March 16 – Annunciation (Norfolk)

Saturday of Souls - 9:30 a.m.

 

Sunday, March 17

Sunday of Orthodoxy

Orthros - 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy - 10 a .m.

Vespers – Pan-Orthodox 6 p.m. (St. Basil)

 

Monday, March 18

Compline - 6 p.m.

 

Wednesday, March 20

Presanctified Liturgy -   6 p. m. – 7 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Prayer & Worship – 7:30 p.m. – 8:15 p.m.

 

Friday, March 22

2nd Salutations To The Theotokos -   6 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 24

Sunday of St. Gregory Palamas

Orthros - 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

Vespers – Eve of the Feast –

Annunciation (Norfolk) 6 p.m.

 

Monday, March 25

Feast of Annunciation – Annunciation (Norfolk) 8:30 a.m.

 

Wednesday, March 27

Presanctified Liturgy -   6 p. m. – 7 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Offering Ourselves to God – 7:30 p.m. – 8:15 p.m.

 

Friday, March 29

3rd Salutations to the Theotokos - 6 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 31

Sunday of the Holy Cross                                      

Orthros - 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

 

Monday, April 1

Compline -   6 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 3

Presanctified Liturgy - 6 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Remembrance: Experiencing the Past Now

7:30 p.m.– 8:15 p.m.

 

Friday, April 5

Vespers/4thSalutations to the Theotokos – 6:00 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 7

Sunday of St. John Climacus

Orthros - 8:45 a.m.

Divine Liturgy - 10:00 a.m.

 

Monday, April 8

Compline -   6:00 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 10

Presanctified Liturgy -   6 p. m. – 7 p.m.

Dinner at 7 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Receiving: How to Be in Communion –

7:30 p.m.– 8:15 p.m.

 

Friday, April 12

Akathist Hymn - 6 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 14

Saint Mary of Egypt

Orthros - 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

 

 

 

 

HOLY WEEK

Saturday, April 20    

Lazarus Saturday/Divine Liturgy 10 a.m.

 

Sunday, April 21                                 

Palm Sunday                             

Orthros 8:45 a.m./Divine Liturgy 10 a.m.

Bridegroom 6 p.m.

 

Monday, April 22                                             

Bridegroom - 6 p.m.

 

Tuesday, April 23

Bridegroom - 6 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 24

Presanctified Liturgy

Divine Liturgy 10 a.m.

Holy Unction - 6 p.m.

 

Thursday, April 25

Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

12 Gospel Service - 6 p.m.

 

Friday, April 26

Great Hours - 10 a.m.

Decent from The Cross - 3 p.m.

Lamentations - 6 p.m.

 

Saturday, April 27

Divine Liturgy - 10 a.m.

Orthros & Divine Liturgy of the Resurrection - 11:15 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 28

GREAT AND HOLY PASCHA

Agape Service - 11a.m.

 

 

 

 


Share This: